top of page

Serena & Kyle

Recently, when I've photographed Weddings, they've been relatively large. Let's say, well over 150 guests. Having repeatedly shot Weddings as that for near five years, it was definitely a wonderful opportunity to join Serena and Kyle as they said their vows in front of their closest family and friends. The focus was solely on them as everyone who witnessed their vows knew without a doubt this day was written in the stars from the moment they met.

While the Bride prepared for her debut, the room was quiet.

I truthfully took my place at a table within the room and simply watched. If the Bride wanted this time to be calm, I was going to do my best to have it exactly that way. I felt no need to quickly run around and have her bounce from lighted spot to certain pose, just to alter her serene mood.

Her hairstylist helped her place her wonderfully long veil, and in a moment of near tears, I captured the below shot of a Mother staring at her little girl in a Wedding gown.

When Serena and I had spoken about the Wedding previously, she had very much urged the importance of her Mother in her life and how momentous of a day it would be for the both of them. As someone who is very close with her Mother, I understood and felt compelled to ensure I captured a moment in time they could look back on forever.

After the ceremony, I was anxious to snag the two love birds away from the guests so I could really spend some time with them. Once the Bride and Groom are officially wed and they exit the church, there's always a wave of guests wanting to take photos with their cell phones, have hugs, exchange quick conversation and ask questions before the Newlyweds get a moment to own the joyous occasion they just experienced. Naturally, this is an obligatory time frame considering the procession of the day itself, but when there's a quick break of time I can steal the stars of the show, I always do. If anyone needs a break, they do.

Look at 'em, will ya?

Right behind the church there was a dreamy nook of sunlight and trees with perfectly timed falling leaves. I absolutely could not resist.

I placed them between the break in the trees and basically never took the camera off of my eyes.

They were naturally so affectionate towards one another, I barely had to direct them at all, which, was amazing. They laughed with one another, had genuine conversations, movement and a genuine excitement to be photographed.

I. Can't.

Once we left the grassy area, after our feet and shoes were soaked with dew, we headed inside the Church where they were wed and explored their stained glass windows. As a photographer, naturally I'm drawn to them, but thankfully the Bride was as well.

This small area near the front of the church was lovely. It was the perfect size for some portrait style shots of the two.

To capture this shot I told them "Don't smile, and pretend like you're a mob King and Queen."

The Groom simply said "I understand."

Those are the type of people I need in my life. They get me.

From this moment forward we continued our mind-melting and took some gorgeous photos that I'm truthfully so proud of.

The best part?

The Bride & Groom love them too.

Thank you Serena & Kyle for having me capture your special day. It meant the world.

<3

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page