top of page

Sierra & Timothy

Sierra wrote me many months ago, booking me for her Wedding. From the first message she sent, I smiled at how complimentary she was of my work and how ecstatic she was to have me capture her special day. To know how happy a Bride is to have me with them during the best day of their life is a feeling I can barely describe. She made feel wanted, overly talented and like I was some sort of gift she was given, although I assured her that the pleasure was all mine. She was so bubbly and hilarious when we spoke that at one point she texted me and said "Lindsee and Sierra bffs for life". (I still have that text on my phone to this day)

We talked throughout the months leading up to the Wedding, and every conversation was lighthearted, and she assured me that her focus was on her and the Groom and not the extra 'stuff' in-between. This thought I admired about her immediately because as a newlywed myself, and a photographer who has photographed numerous Weddings, the importance of those moments you experience the day of are so monumental, yet pass as fast as the vows are spoken, that it's imperative they are treasured. She agreed to this deep within her core, which frankly makes my job so much easier. As a photographer I want to capture the moments the Bride & Groom have that other eyes don't get to see; the look and smile they share when they take place in front of the Preacher, or the whispers they exchange during their first dance. Those small but significant moments are what I always intend to capture for the Bride & Groom to reflect upon and keep forever. And for Sierra, that was my goal.

The day of the Wedding, I arrived at My Old Kentucky Home State Park and walked into the Magnolia Room where she and her Bridesmaids were getting ready. The girls were in their robes while my friend, Kaitlyn, beautifully did their makeup. Everyone was so smiley and welcoming as I arranged my equipment and the atmosphere was smooth and calm. Everyone was nervous, naturally, but excited to experience the day. It was truly infectious. Once the girls were ready, Sierra requested a photo of them in their robes, and being a floral and silk gal myself, I just couldn't have been happier.

The dress.

Once everyone was ready, the Bride was greeted outside with a carriage.

Transportation fit for the Princess that she is. Everyone was so excited to see this regal white ball on wheels led by a stunning horse, but even more so excited to see the beauty mount it and take her place. She smiled and laughed and it truly looked as though she had been riding in one her entire life.

Absolutely stunning.

Soon, their closest friends and family gathered outside in the warm sunshine to watch these two become one.

During the ceremony, these two looked at one another in ways I couldn't even dream of.

Every word was incredibly sincere, and it was so refreshing to watch. Although I'm sure they were nervous, watching them it appeared that all of those emotions fled them because finally, after months and months of planning, it was all coming together, and it was a day they had been greatly anticipating.

After the ceremony, we gathered those needed for photos and had some fun.

Everyone involved was incredibly patient and willing to do whatever necessary to get the best photos.

When I realized Sierra had these fans for the guests at the ceremony, I knew there would be a moment like this. A little flirty, a little sexy, and a whole lot of cute.

In contrast, these girls then took a brief moment to let the wind blow in their hair, clutch one another's hand and bask in the day. I tend to strongly encourage photos like these because I feel that although they realize they are having their photo taken, by closing their eyes they are allowing their emotions to truly shine as they don't have to worry about who is around them. They can smile, cry, laugh, whatever emotion necessary within those few seconds to express how they feel. And, by looking at these ladies in this particular photo, you can tell that they're all pretty happy.

Once we had all of the necessary photos complete, it was then time for the newlyweds to greet their guests and partake in mingling and their first dance.

I truly love photographing first dances, because it's a time when the newlyweds can hold one another and whisper in one another's ears without having to be somewhere or talking to someone. They can laugh, smooch, hug and enjoy the song they chose to represent their movement into married life. During this time, I try to hang back with the crowd and give the two their space, as they are more than deserving.

Quickly the sun was setting, and as Sierra and I had discussed prior, we wanted 'golden hour' shots. So, once their dance was complete, we pulled away from the party and allowed ourselves some time to capture some beautiful moments.

I think the Groom's photos are portraits rarely put in the spotlight, as usually it is the Bride who is on display, rightfully so. However, the Groom is a key player in the big day, and I have such an amazing time speaking with them and watching them unfold in front of my lens.

Believe me, I could post every single photo taken from the moments playing with the sun, but I really want the Bride and Groom to view these and recall that time on their own.

Once the sun was on its way down, we retreated back to the party, and we had a fantastic time. Everyone was on the dance floor (including myself), and we laughed, requested our favorite songs and celebrated the wonderful day we all had the pleasure to share.

I will always hold this Wedding near and dear to my heart as I felt like more than a photographer, but a genuine friend.

I hope these photos can provide a lifelong happiness for the Bride and Groom, filled with smiles and unconditional love. Thank you for allowing me to witness it.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page