top of page

Milburn Family

Recently my sister-in-law gave birth to a beautiful and healthy baby. The perk!?

It's a girl!!!

The first in their family of three boys, everyone was ecstatic... and I mean everyone.

So, she wrote me asking if I could come to their farm and take some family photos, showcasing the little princess. I happily obliged as I had been itching to get on their land and capture some memories. We spoke for a couple of weeks about what ideas she had, and let me tell you that this Momma had it all planned out, which is totally fine with me! It makes my job a bit easier!

The Sunday of, it was a bit gloomy and the grass was covered in dew. We postponed a few hours to avoid us all being soaking wet, and to allow the sun to warm things up a bit. Around noon, my Husband and I arrived at the Milburn farm, and everyone was ready to go. The boys had their white button-up shirts on with jeans, and the itty bitty baby had a too cute for words tutu.

When I tell you this farm is a photographer's dream, I absolutely mean it. There is barn wood, fields, farm animals, hay bales and color for acres. Everywhere I turned I could see a specific image based off of the scenery alone. It was wonderful.

Th next spot we landed was in a barn of theirs, as one side had chopped wood neatly placed, creating an awesome Tetris effect with shadows and shades of brown.

We moved into this little nook, and Momma asked if she could take some photos with just her babies. Well... of course!

I loved these moments, and they were admittedly some of my favorites as I barely had to direct any of them. The boys were excited to be around their sister as they gently touched her, Momma is just as proud as can be, and Levi, the smaller boy in the front, was semi-difficult to make grin, but it gave the audience a definite challenge. (Basically, we had to twerk to get him to smile)

From here, we changed outfits and brought to life some of the ideas Momma sent me during our discussion.

Look at the boy's faces!

They don't mess around when it comes to their baby sister!

While Daddy was getting some props ready for other photos, I had some fun with the boys!

After we had some fun in their field, it was time to get some sweet shots of the baby herself!

Momma had a super cute metal wash bucket filled with burlap and soft blankets to prop her up and offer texture for the shots. We slid her in the shade, made her comfortable, and I had some one-on-one time with her.

I mean... look at her.

Once the props were placed, we threw the boys on the hay and let them look at their land, while representing the farm they will someday have.

A photo Mom sent me that we both knew we had to do is the one below, and it was pretty fun to capture. The boys would align themselves where the words didn't make sense and then laugh about it, so timing for these was everything.

To end our Sunday session, we put the beautiful baby girl nearly where we began, in the wooded nook, and I snapped away to capture more of her gorgeous features.

I am a very blessed Aunt and photographer to have such a beautiful family surrounding me all day!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page